Author Interview Monday Amylynn Bright 6/10/13

Welcome to another Monday here at The Musings of a Manic Blonde: A Place to Read About Writing blog. Sit back with a drink and some popcorn as you get to know Amylynn Bright this week. It was an absolute joy getting to know her.

MOMB: Let’s start out with the basics. Tell me a little background about yourself:

AMYLYNN: I’m a mom of Sassy and The Bandit and I blog with my Sister about silly, stupid stuff like our plot to steal pandas from China or any other adorable fuzzy animal that strikes our fancy. We talk about our day jobs which we are desperate to get out of and embarrassing stories about our families that are bound to get us divorced one of these days. Frankly, there is nothing to embarrassing to blog about. Our humiliation is laid bare for your amusement.

MOMB: What got you writing/when did you start writing:

AMYLYNN: I’ve been writing since – forever. I wrote my first novel in 3rd grade – The Lonely Crayon – a poignant character drama of the white crayon. It won first place in a school competition. Those angsty dramas didn’t really work out. Neither did the awful poetry, the horror and mystery novels that were never finished, or the scripts I wrote in film school. My Sister introduced me to romance novels very late in my reading career, but I quickly fell in love with them. Like any fan will tell you, romance novels are not what the detractors think they are. I began writing my first one immediately after.

MOMB: You mentioned film school, did you complete film school? Do you have a scholastic background in writing?

AMYLYNN: I didn’t finish film school. I honestly don’t know what I was thinking. I’m a huge film fan but I don’t have the temperament for Hollywood. Let’s just say I’m not capable of sucking up. I have studied writing in school, but I’ll tell you that you learn more skills by doing than by instruction. Each thing I write is better than the last and I attribute that to experience. That being said, I learned enormous amount of craft and industry acumen from my local chapter of Romance Writers of America. To new writers, I’d encourage you to find a supportive writers group and really participate.

MOMB: What is the difference in style between writing scripts and writing novels?

AMYLYNN: My nervous breakdown. Honestly, my scripts were so awful and amateurish that I’m not certain I can even really speak intelligently on this question. I did those yeeeeeears ago. I’ll bet if I took those out and reread them, I’d cringe. Lets not do that.

MOMB: For you, what makes writing novels easier than writing scripts?

AMYLYNN: I really like telling a story and that’s easier for me with descriptions and internal thought/dialogue than with dialogue alone. It’s been so long since I’ve written a script, I have no idea how I’d do with it these days.

MOMB: What drew you to writing romance versus what you were writing at the time?

AMYLYNN: Romance is a much maligned genre fiction. I’ll be the first to admit that before I was a fan, I was a hater. To those who bemoan the genre, I invite them to read. My Sister gave me my first romance. I had no intention of reading it. I was going to give it to my mother-in-law. Fate intervened and a very long stop light found me devouring the first chapter. Julia Quinn is an exquisite storyteller. Romance is about telling stories and that’s what I’m good at. Completing stories had always been a struggle – until I found romance. I’ve finished two novels, two novellas and am more than half way through a contemporary (requested by my literary agent which has already been requested by a publisher) and the 3rd in the Secret Series.

MOMB: Tell us about your books.

AMYLYNN: I write romantic comedy. My latest releases – Lady Belling’s Secret and Miss Goldsleigh’s secret are the first two in a series written in the Regency. I love fast, witty dialogue and putting my characters into situations that test their sense of humor.

MOMB: Explain for our readers what “the Regency” is.

AMYLYNN: There is considerable argument about when the actual Regency occurred. Technically, it’s from 1811 – 1820 when the King of England, George III, was ruled unfit and his son ruled as Regent – hence the Regency. However, for the purposes of a romance sub-genre it’s pretty much the period in England between 1795-1837. My books take place about 1812. Most people identify the time period best with Jane Austen. Jane’s is the original romance author and Regency pays homage to her. There are very specific rules in society but modern Regencies explore the flaunting and sidestepping of those rules. My books are hot, sensual stories with tension and humor.

MOMB: What drew you to writing Regency romance and is that the only time period your write in? And how much research did you/do you put into the time period when writing a story?

AMYLYNN: I started in Regency because that’s what I was reading – devouring actually. It’s a fun time period because of the societal rules that are so much fun to break. There were serious consequences of rash actions back then. That and the visuals are so lush. Writing balls and house parties is fun. Still, I have ventured out of the time frame. I wrote a pirate story – The Sea Rose – which takes place in 1718 and a contemporary paranormal that isn’t out yet, but will be soon. Also, I’m writing a contemporary romance at the request of my agent and it’s full has already been requested by a publisher. I do a TON of research. Not just whether or not barbed wire existed (no) or muffins (sorta) or revolving doors (no), but also whether certain words or concepts existed then. I wanted to say something about feminine hormones once, but had to revise because that wasn’t really a concept back then. People who read romance are vicious about errors.

MOMB: I have a series that I’m working on myself, that’s kind of taken on a life of it’s own. What do you have planned for your series? And did you always plan it to be a series?

AMYLYNN: I did envision it as a series from conception. Most of the romance authors I follow write series. It’s pretty much a romance thing. There is a third in progress and I see at least one more after that. I love bringing back the old characters and I think readers love learning more about the people they fell in love with. It’s fun to follow along with their lives. Still, I agree about the concept of novels taking on a life of their own as they are born. I never conceived of my current release until I wrote the first book and fell in love with the heroine’s spurned fiance. That character is such a great guy so he was shoehorned into the plan. The poor man just deserved his own happy every after.

MOMB: How did the idea for the Secret series come about?

AMYLYNN: Funny that. As conceived the story, plot, etc. really ended up nothing like the original concept. As I said, I always envisioned it as a series I just didn’t realize who the players would actually be.

MOMB: It’s said that you have to learn the rules of writing before you can break them. What rules do you think you break?

AMYLYNN: I can’t think of anything I’ve broken lately, but I broke plenty of them in the beginning and my manuscripts bore witness. My first romance novel had absolutely no conflict. It was a lovely story that just breezed along and nothing happened. 75,000 words about nothing. **eyeroll**. I’ve since figured that all out and now there’s an actual story before I start.

MOMB: How has being in the Romance Writers of America helped your writing and/or your writing career?

AMYLYNN: I have no idea if other chapters are as supportive as mine, but I’d like to think so. We have fantastic craft and industry programs every single month, fab critique groups, and a wonderful tradition of encouragement and recognition for submissions to contests and queries, etc. I am 100% certain I would not be a published author without my RWA chapter.

MOMB: So as I’m asking the questions about the Romance Writer’s of America questions, I’m realizing that I might be the only one that knows what you’re talking about. Can you tell our reader’s what it is and provide information on how to become a member? 

AMYLYNN: Romance Writes of America was founded in 1980 with the mission statement of advancing the professional interests of career minded romance writers. Specifically, RWA supports writers trying to make a living writing romance. What better organization could you be involved in? RWA supports its 10,000+ members with constant educational opportunities and advocates author rights in the publishing industry. There are 145 local and online chapters. I belong to two of them. Check out RWA.org for more information. I HIGHLY recommend them.

 MOMB: It is difficult to get published. How did the RWA help you get published? 
 
AMYLYNN: Getting published is an exhausting endeavor. Right now there are so many changes in the industry and I believe that editors are hobbled in making acquisitions. That being said, I don’t know what I’m talking about. It’s merely speculation. What I do know is I have a fabulous literary agent who believes in me. I’ve had some really encouraging attention from publishers, but none of my projects ended in a sale. Taking a cue from a renaissance in the industry and incitement from the RWA National convention last year. my agent encouraged me to self-publish through an agent assisted Amazon program. She hooked me up with Evil Sasha – who seriously is a fabulous editor. I’ve made these books the best they could be. I wanted to be very proud of my product. My worst nightmare was a bad, poorly edited book. I’m having success with my self-pubbed books, but that doesn’t mean I’m forgetting the dream of a NY publisher. Still, this is a brave new world and I think of it all as a grand experiment.  

MOMB: Let’s get down to brass tacks a little. What does your editing process look like?

AMYLYNN: OH! I’m here to tell you, it’s not pretty. When I get the first set of edits back from my editor, I’m a basket case. There’s no other way to describe it. I cry. I yell. There are words spoken in anger. I flail. There’s a story my Sister loves to tell about when I got the edits back from my very first story, I called her from the produce department of the grocery store. I was laying on the floor and crying which, I assure you, freaks out the other customers as well as the grocer. My Sister will try to console me with tough love, but I’m inconsolable for at least 24 hours. Finally, I’ll pull myself together and tackle it. The whole process is quite dramatic. We call my editor Evil Sasha, but in reality she’s a very, very good editor and there’s nothing evil about her. My books are all the better because of her.

MOMB: To console those going through the editing process right now, on average, how many times does “Evil Sasha” send your book back?  

AMYLYNN: She and I go through two rounds. That’s enough for my ego. She’s very thorough

MOMB: How do you get to know your characters?

AMYLYNN: It’s an organic process. I think I know them because I gave birth to them, but they are every bit as surprising as my own real children. They’re always doing stuff I don’t expect. Some times I’ll let them get away with it and just see where things end up. I figure out who they are as I write. I once had the opportunity to ask Susan Elizabeth Phillips how well she knows her characters when she starts their story and she said not at all. I think she was lying to make me feel better because that woman is an absolute master at character development. When I’m done with her books I know her people well enough to write the next chapter in their lives. One day I’d like to feel that competent.

MOMB: Do you have a specific process when beginning a story?

AMYLYNN: Usually, I’ve already given the story a great deal of thought – basic premise and who the hero and heroine are, the hook. Next I get my two Sisters together and we hash it out with a crap load of colored sticky notes and a giant piece of poster board. We create a road map since I’m sort of a pantser who needs a bit of direction. I’d have a really hard time doing it without them as my sounding board. Any time I get stuck, I talk it out with them, sometimes it’s just the act of saying everything out loud for the answer to come to me.

MOMB: Once the “road map” is done and it’s time to write, do you stick to that road or do you allow your characters to drive you off it if the situation is appropriate? 
 
AMYLYNN: I use my road map as a guide, just directions to where I need to go. It doesn’t tell me how I’m going to get there. That’s when the chaos happens. Or the magic. I guess it’s all how you think about it.
 
MOMB: Do you have a ritual that you do when you write? Like there has to be music playing, certain drinks, snacks, that sort of thing? 
 
AMYLYNN: I write in the living room after my family goes to bed. I have an 8 and a 10 year old who don’t allow me to do any writing while they’re awake. It’s a losing cause to even try. I am an extreme night owl and rarely go to bed before 2AM anyway. Keep in mind I have a day job and have to take my kids to school in the morning. I rarely operate on more than 5 or 6 hours of sleep a night. I generally have the TV on and a cat or dog pestering me. When I seriously have a deadline or need to get something finished, I love to write in cafes or Starbucks. It’s always interesting to get caught by a stranger when I’m practicing facial expressions or gestures, trying to make sure I’m describing them right. I’m sure there are people all over town who think I’m insane. 
 
MOMB: What was the one piece of advice given to you that has helped push you forward? 
 
AMYLYNN: Just keep writing. Writers write. Experiment. Learn as much craft as you can. Don’t take every bit of advice to heart – takes what works for you and cultivate it. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. It’s hard to send your babies into the world for criticism, but do it. If you can listen with an open mind, you’ll learn a lot. 
 
MOMB: I was asked this question in a recent blog interview and it was a good one, so I’m going to steal it. Have their been any… road blocks that you’ve hit in your writing that you weren’t sure if you would be able to overcome, but did? Are there things that you still struggle with? How do you handle that? 
 
AMYLYNN: That first round of noes are soul crushing. You really just have to keep plugging along. 
 
MOMB: Is there another genre or in your case, another time period that you’d like to tackle? 
 
AMYLYNN: I’m really liking the contemporary. It turns out there’s a whole lot less research! And I’ve set aside a YA I was working on with my Sister that takes place in 1920 San Francisco. I’d love to have time to get back to that. That was some fun research, too. Still, I don’t see giving up Regency. It’s my first love, after all.

 MOMB: This next segment is something that I call Rapid Fire. Or at least it would be, if we were on the phone together. It’s one of those, don’t think, type the first thing that comes to mind. They’re completely unrelated and sometimes, depending on how silly (and or sleep deprived) I’m feeling when I come up with them, completely nonsensical.

MOMB: Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez are hanging from a cliff. You only have time to save one. Who lives to sing again and who becomes a spot at the bottom of the canyon? 
 
AMYLYNN: I’ll be honest and admit that even though I have a 10 year old daughter I have no idea what Justin Bieber or Selena Gomez sounds like. I couldn’t recognize a song from either one of them if my life depended on it. However, Justin left his monkey in Germany. There’s something wrong with him. I guess I’d rescue Selena simply due to the lack of monkey stories about her. 
 
MOMB: You’ve just been given a task by Donald Trump to create and name your own ice cream – what flavor is it and what’s the name? 
 
AMYLYNN: The Most Glorious Ice Cream Ever. It would be cheesecake ice cream with toffee and peanut butter cups with bits of waffle cone thrown in. I don’t mess around when it comes to ice cream. 
 
MOMB: Who would play you in a movie of your life? 
 
AMYLYNN: Either Julia Roberts – cause I have red hair too, or Grover from the Muppets. 
 
MOMB: Coffee or Chocolate? 
 
AMYLYNN: Chocolate IN my coffee. Duh.
 
MOMB: If you could be any animal, what would you be? 
 
AMYLYNN: The kind that live at my house because they are the laziest, most pampered animals on the planet. Probably the enormous orange tomcat, but honestly, the bloodhound doesn’t do anything all day either. 
 
MOMB: Thank you so much for this wonderful interview. What’s next for Amylynn Bright?  
 
AMYLYNN: I have the first 2 books for The Secret Series – Lady Belling’s Secret and Miss Goldsleigh’s Secret. Keep an eye on my blog for goofiness everyday and news about the latest nonsense.
 
Twitter: @amylynnbright
 
Also, I’m happy to do a give away. Either one of my books – a hard copy or e-book – of the winner’s choice to a commentor.
 
Thanks. This has been fun.
 
MOMB: You heard the lady! She’ll pick a random commentor. I’ll give you until tomorrow night to comment your little hearts out and then she’ll pick a winner Wednesday morning. 

5 thoughts on “Author Interview Monday Amylynn Bright 6/10/13

  1. What a great interview! Thank you both so much. Amy, what’s your writing process like? Do you pants? Outline? (Or a term I just heard today) Juggle? How many pages do you write and hour? Do you spew your first draft out or edit as you go?
    I LOVE reading Regency and I’m really excited to hear you’re writing a contemporary too!
    (No contest, I already own all of AmyLynn’s books.)

  2. My process is…erratic. There are days when I yank out 5-7 pages and others when I stare at that last paragraph for several days, rereading my pages and moving on to cruise the internet in despair. I have a hybrid writing strategy somewhere between pantsing and outlining. I’ve never heard of juggling. What the heck is that? Sounds spicy. I really wish I could “spew” pages out without constantly editing, but I reread and reread and reread. I’ll say I’ve gotten better about moving forward instead of back. Draft two is pretty ruthless. I’m so glad you’re a fan and you enjoyed them. I’ll ask the same question all authors ask – did you leave a review? XOXO Amylynn

  3. Pingback: We’re like Hemingway. Really, only with less bullfighting. | The Quill Sisters

  4. *I think* Juggling is the hybrid method you are doing…half pantsing, half outlining. I read it on a Kathleen Kirkwood interview.

Leave a comment